1935 Hitler

Adolf Hitler visits Kriegsmarine U-Boats

On 30 January 1933 Adolf Hitler and the National Socialistic Party took power when Hitler was appointed as Chancelor of the German Reich. Soon a significant re-armament of Germany was launched while the arms control regime of the Versailles Treaty of 1919 was revoked unilaterally. In March 1935 general National Military Service was introduced, the German Armed Forces, hitherto called “Reichswehr”, were taken as a core for the build-up of much larger Armed Forces, now called “Wehrmacht”. Similarly, the Navy, called “Reichsmarine” until then, was given the name “Kriegsmarine“.

Hitler as the Chancelor and “Führer” (= Great Leader) of the German Reich was a frequent visitor of units, for-mations, military commands and agencies, including those of the Kriegsmarine. After a first introductionary visit of the still Reichsmarine on 22nd and 23rd of May 1933 at Kiel many more visits were to follow, including tours lasting several days on board Naval Units at sea. Also, he was guest of honour in 1936 at the launchings of the battleships Scharnhorst at Wilhelmshaven and Gneisenau at Kiel, in 1939 those of Tirpitz at Wilhelmshaven and Bismarck at Hamburg, as well as in 1938 at Kiel of the aircraft carrier Graf Zeppelin. p219_1_00

The pictures are proof of several visits executed by Hitler at U-boats. For example, on 17 December 1935 he took part at the formal commissioning of the U-boat Flottilla “Weddigen” at Kiel and the photographs show him embarking on the Type II B U-boats U 7. There was another visit shortly after the outbreak of WW II on 28 September 1939 at Wilhelmshaven, where he congratulated the crew of U 29 to its sinking of the British aircraft carrier Courageous on 17 September 1939. 

p219_1_01Also, much published was the reception, including a communal luncheon, of the crew of U 47 at the Chancellery in Berlin on 18 October 1939, in honour of its successful raid at Scapa Flow with sinking the British battleship Royal Oak on 14 October 1939.

p219_1_03However, by and large the relationship between Hitler and the Navy remained rather reserved and his critical assessment of the usefulness of Naval forces is know too well, same as his differences with the Commander-in-Chief Kriegsmarine, Grand Admiral Erich Raeder.

 

p219_1_02

1935 Hitler

Adolf Hitler besichtigt U-Boote der Kriegsmarine

Mit der Machtübernahme der Nationalsozialisten am 30.01.1933 durch die Ernennung Adolf Hitlers zum Reichskanzler entwickelte sich bald eine deutliche Wiederaufrüstung Deutschlands unter einseitiger Aufkündigung der bisherigen Beschränkungen des Versailler Vertrages von 1919. Im März 1935 wurde die allgemeine Wehrpflicht eingeführt und die bisherige Reichswehr wurde als Kern in die im Aufbau befindliche “Wehrmacht” überführt. Die bisherige “Reichsmarine” wurde nun in “ Kriegsmarine” umbenannt.

Hitler als Reichskanzler und “Führer” des Deutschen Reichs war ein häufiger Besucher von Einheiten, Verbänden und Dienststellen der Wehrmacht, so auch bei solchen der Kriegsmarine. Nach einem ersten Besuch der noch Reichsmarine am 22. und 23.05.1933 in Kiel folgten zahlreiche weitere Aufenthalte, bis hin zu mehrtägigen Mitfahrten in See auf Einheiten der Marine. Er war 1936 auch Gast bei den Stapelläufen der Schlachtschiffe Scharnhorst in Wilhelmshaven, Gneisenau in Kiel, sowie 1939 bei der Tirpitz in Wilhelmshaven und Bismarck in Hamburg, aber auch 1938 beim Flugzeugträger Graf Zeppelin in Kiel.p219_1_00

Mit den Bildern aus dem U-Boot-Archiv weisen wir auf einige Besuche Hitlers bei den U-Booten hin. So nahm er am 17.12.1935 an der feierlichen Aufstellung der U-Boot-Flottille “Weddigen” in Kiel teil und besichtigte dabei genauer das Typ II B U-Boot U 7. Überliefert ist auch ein weiterer Besuch kurz nach Beginn des Zweiten Welt-krieges am 28.09.1939 in Wilhelmshaven, wo er die Besatzung von U 29 zu ihrem Einsatz mit der Versenkung des britischen Flugzeugträgers Courageous am 17.09.1939 beglückwünschte.

p219_1_01Bekannt auch sein Empfang der Besatzung von U 47 mit gemeinsamen Mittagessen am 18.10.1939 in der Reichskanzlei in Berlin nach deren erfolgreichen Einsatz am 14.10.1939 in Scapa Flow mit der Versenkung des britischen Schlachtschiffes Royal Oak. Dazu verweisen wir auch auf das Sonderheft von U 47 aus dem Scherzers Militär-Verlag.

p219_1_03Dennoch, das Verhältnis Hitlers zur Marine blieb immer weitgehend eher distanziert und seine Einschätzungen des Wertes von Seestreitkräften sowie seine Auseinandersetzungen mit dem Oberbefehlshaber der Marine, Großadmiral Erich Raeder, sind nur zu bekannt.

 

p219_1_02